Curated and distributed in Self | Startups

Why Big Things Have to Start Small

The successful know that their efforts will become significant as they move forward

Dew Langrial
The Startup
Published in
6 min readAug 9, 2020

--

Blue Moon, lunar lander replica, at the Washington Convention Center, with Jeff Bezos standing in front of it
Image by Dave Mosher

Big things start small because we can’t understand a complicated task unless we break it down into bite-sized chunks. Our minds can process only one item at a time. We have to start small.

I read something similar in an interview where Jeff Bezos was discussing his experiences during Amazon’s growth phase. He said, “The biggest oak starts from an acorn, and if you want to do anything new, you’ve got to be willing to let that acorn grow into a little sapling and then finally into a small tree, and maybe one day it will be a big business on its own. We know that big things start small.”

Thinking of small beginnings, in 1995, according to Craig Stoltz, Jeff’s garage was his headquarters. When Craig visited Amazon for a story in The Washington Post, Jeff told him that he had been up late packing books with his wife.

Since I first heard this mantra, a year ago, it has affected my way of thinking and working. I am no longer overwhelmed by my urge to do something great in a single day. If I can persuade myself to take small steps in the right direction, it would allow me the…

--

--

Dew Langrial
The Startup

Living life in awe of it all. Hoping to make sense. A Thinker, Writer & Storyteller. Working on my tech startup. Visit me at: https://dewlangrial.blogspot.com/