Blockchain Flowers are Forever

Katarzyna Dziaduś
3 min readMar 8, 2022

--

Why did I open a flower shop on the blockchain?

Blockchain Flowers are Forever!

This idea came to me when on Valentine’s Day I saw people asking for NTFs instead of flowers. So I decided to open this little flower shop for International Women’s Day. I love flowers, but what I like the most is the thing, that these flowers will exist forever. How cool is that?!

You can purchase a bouquet for yourself or buy it as a gift. Feel free to pick even a few of them. If you buy all ten, you will get a special 1/1 art from me as a gift.

There is something special hidden behind this. My main inspiration for these flowers were plants from Ukraine. I have portrayed ten different plants popular in this country. At the same time, I want to donate 10% of the sale on the primary market to Ukraine.

What did the process look like?

When the idea came to me, I started with a moodboard, and I created a simple bunch of inspirations out there. I’m from Poland, and I’ve known some plants from this part of the world, so the research wasn’t the hardest part. Also, I asked my Ukrainian friend (thanks Uliana!) for the most popular flowers.

drawing

When I started scrolling for inspiration and talking about the project, my lovely partner brought a bunch of beautiful flowers home as a gift for me.

sunflower

And it was perfect! Painting real plants I could hold in my hands was an amazing experience. Even my son helped me. (He loves flowers, especially sunflowers, but unfortunately, it’s a tough love.)

baby with flower

I started with a moodboard. Later I moved to sketches of hands with plants, and defined them into clean linearts.

After this step, I decided on colors. I wanted to create flowers in more vibrant tones, but at the same time with a limited palette. In the end, I skipped the green! And in my opinion, it was a good move.

At this point, I felt there was something missing in the compositions. And I finally came to the idea that flowers need ribbons! This detail helped me create a more dynamic composition and added some interesting elements to the illustrations. Eventually, I added final color lines, subtle brush strokes, and paper texture.

It was a pleasure to create this flower shop. I hope some of you will find something for yourselves in it. And here is the whole collection.

So, why did I open the web3 Florist’s?

I wanted to create forever flowers that can give a sparkle of joy for those who will purchase them, or for those who will get them as a gift. And of course, it is also for those people fighting in Ukraine against the stupidest thing in the world — the war.

Here is the link to OpenSea, where you can buy some forever flowers.

--

--