Blogger, Freelancer, Journalist, Influencer, or Just a Writer? Who Are You?

You may be surprised by how much these labels matter

Melinda Crow
The Startup

--

Photo by Caroline on Unsplash

In another one of my imposter moments, a few years ago, I found myself on a press trip (what is it about press trips that make me feel unworthy?) in Puerto Vallarta in a van full of very experienced, very popular travel bloggers and one fashion model. As the van pulled away from the luxury hotel on the first morning, one of the bloggers turned to me and asked about my blog. I stammered a bit, then answered, “Oh, I’m not a blogger. I’m just a freelancer.”

That blogger is now a friend, who eventually told me she didn’t understand my “just a freelancer” comment. In her mind, freelancing was the harder choice. I disagree.

I’m going to breakdown the different labels we toss about when we discuss this work we do and you can decide for yourself.

What is a blogger?

Bloggers comprise a wide range of writers who primarily write for themselves, either on their own website or on a platform designed for blogging. Early blogs were not much more than journals, but today’s blogs often encompass in-depth journalistic coverage of their topic, as well as opinions.

The benefits:

--

--

Melinda Crow
The Startup

30-year freelancer. Found on: Newsweek, The Points Guy, Cruise Critic, MSN Travel, Writing Cooperative. Falcon Guide author. https://melindacrow.substack.com/