5 Books that helped me learn Python, fast.

Jake Vita
The Startup
Published in
5 min readDec 22, 2019

--

Novice, beginner, rookie… Whatever you want to call it, I was one before I read these books.

I began teaching myself python after finding myself heavily interested in Machine Learning, CNNs (Convolutional Neural Networks) and A.I Agent play. At first, I will admit that I was a little overwhelmed and found the amount that I would have to learn far beyond the amount of time I had to put aside for it. Well, that was before I found these books. (To be noted: the books listed below are strictly for learning Python and are not related to CNNs, AI or Machine Learning.)

01. Python Crash Course

Written by Eric Matthes, this book is a fun and engaging way to be introduced to the programming language. Covering everything a beginner will need to arm themselves with when approaching tasks in their early python explorations. The simple and concise blocks of writing and repeated examples of code make the topics fun to dive into and incredibly digestible, not to mention rewarding due to the well placed examples to constantly be testing yourself with. As someone that is coming to the programming language from a non-computer science background, this book was by far the most helpful resource when learning Python “Tabula Rasa” and I couldn’t recommend it enough for anyone who is looking to learn the language or to clarify…

--

--