Changing Careers During COVID-19

Haleigh Dalke
6 min readOct 9, 2020

--

Photo by Brooke Lark on Unsplash

In a matter of 6 months, I went from a professional dancer to having my first full-time job offer as a software engineer. I’m here to tell you my story and how I turned this uncertain landscape into positive, active change.

The Months Leading Up To Change

It’s pretty crazy when you think about it — I was performing in NYC, taking daily classes at Gibney Dance and Steps on Broadway, shuffling kids to and from school, and getting ready to fly home to run rehearsals at my mom’s dance studio during spring break. Cue global pandemic. I left NYC just 5 days before the shelter in place protocol was instated. I packed a carry-on size suitcase of clothes and 2 pairs of shoes, thinking I’d be back to my New York apartment in a few weeks. Of course, the reality was that I wouldn’t be returning to my old life at all. When I flew to my family’s home in SF “for a few weeks,” I left behind my first apartment, all of my belongings, my first non-freelance job, my entire community of friends, my loving boyfriend, and my dream dance career. My life went from lively young NYC artist to suburban isolation. And the worst part is that I’m not the only one with this story.

April 2020 — the month when we all realized we were in it. The month that none of us really remember. The time when I decided that change and resilience were going to be crucial to my survival. I took this month to reflect on my strongest skills, my deepest interests, and my past experiences. What I found was that it wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies — I genuinely hated the time in between projects when I felt like my side hustles were all I was living and working for. I loved to dance, and always will, but the feeling that I constantly had to be on, ready for an opportunity at any corner, really heightened my perfectionist tendencies to an unhealthy level. It was, and is, a really tough decision to put my life's work to the side, but the harsh reality was that I wasn’t happy with where my life was headed in 5 years' time… My life pre-pandemic wasn’t my recipe for happiness, and now was the time to change that.

Going from Artist to Engineer

It’s important to note that my childhood dream was to work as an engineer for NASA. Not to discount that I also wanted to dance on stage with Beyoncé, but I spent a lot more time building new “inventions” as a kid than attending concerts. I am a creator and a nerd who loves having meaningful conversations.

For these reasons, I received my minor in Web Applications and Computer Programming from NYU and tutored for a few of the CS courses. I knew that a career in dance wasn’t forever (I mean who’s body can perform at an elite level beyond 35?!), and I gravitated towards engineering “backups” while I was in college. I used some of these skills post-undergrad: building a couple of portfolio websites for some fellow artists, teaching kids how to code in Python, and even accepting a job as an abacus teacher (but none of these gigs sustained my bank account like nannying, so I found myself primarily watching after kids and helping families).

All to say, it was a natural progression for me to explore my engineering interests in the realm of software, especially when one of the few unimpacted industries during COVID-19 was Tech. I did extensive research and ultimately decided to enroll in Flatiron School — it made the most sense for my location, budget, and desired academic intensity.

The 15-Week Software Engineering Bootcamp @ Flatiron School

Photo by NESA by Makers on Unsplash

The start of the program hit me like a ton of bricks: make no mistake, bootcamp is not undergrad. It is intensive and you will work hard. I attended a top school and can vouch that bootcamps are absolutely no walk in the park. During the toughest learning curves and longest days, my instructors encouraged me to remember why I decided to make this career jump. Everyone’s is personal, and the reason I clung to was humorous and emotionally powerful — I didn’t want to be wiping any baby’s butt, flushing down anyone’s poop, or taking an apple to the head by any child that wasn’t my own or my family’s. It takes a lot of patience and nobility to be in service (please don’t get me wrong), but it wasn’t for me and I would remember these experiences when I’d spend days getting an API to work, find myself with a headache after a lesson on data structures, or get lost in the hopelessness vortex that is COVID-19. If you’re looking to change careers, I highly suggest you find your motivation story! Fast forward 15 weeks and…

Graduation & The Job Search

Let’s face it, it’s intimidating to be entering the job market at an entry-level in a new career field when our country has reached some of the highest records of unemployment in history. When I first graduated bootcamp, I had this extreme panic that I could be without a job for longer than my personal savings would allow. Luckily tech has largely been unaffected and it’s one of the few industries that supports non-traditional education backgrounds (*phew*). After graduating on a Friday and a long weekend of rest, I was back online Monday morning building my resume and searching for job openings.

Photo by Cookie the Pom on Unsplash

The first couple of weeks post-graduation were probably the hardest of them all. I no longer had structure — the daily check-ins, lesson plans, and peer accountability were gone. I had access to a career coach (shoutout Flatiron School, this makes the world of a difference), but what had become my “new normal” was, again, changed. My success was entirely in my own hands, and that was scary!

I discovered that networking and prioritization are probably the toughest aspects of the job search during COVID-19. There are plenty of applications, but you’re much more likely to land the interview if you can get an internal referral or build a relationship with someone at that company. Unfortunately, that is just how the world works, so you have to put yourself out there online and try to meet new people.

Once you’ve attended some events and are actively messaging on LinkedIn and email, the fun really begins. It was very difficult for me to decide what was most important on a daily basis: do I build relationships or do I work on developing my coding skills? Bootcamps are incredible educational vehicles, but due to time constraints, they cannot teach you everything you need to know as an entry-level developer.

Photo by Peggy Anke on Unsplash

What I learned was that you have to find your way of maximizing your time to do a little bit of everything. I, for example, work better when I get the toughest tasks done first and I can learn new concepts in the afternoons. I would write emails, update my resume, and draft cover letters in the morning, and “relax” in the afternoon by tackling a new coding concept. I stayed on this grind for weeks, trying to maintain a level head and not get too excited about any singular opportunity.

Just under 4 weeks post-graduation, I received my first offer letter! It’s not at my dream company or a 6 figure salary, but it’s proof that I am employable as a recent career changer and entry-level developer. And that is a huge vote of confidence for any person seeking a career change, especially during this global pandemic.

Let this be some inspiration that you can do anything you set your mind to do. Never settle for less than you’re worth. If your story is like mine but you are still out there searching for work, just know that you are employable and you can do it! Never lose sight of the goal or hope, I have faith in you.

--

--