Personal Development

Researchers Reveal Surprising Truths about Successful Teams

Why do some work groups thrive, and others falter?

Rakia Ben Sassi
The Startup
Published in
6 min readNov 9, 2020

--

Why some work groups thrive and others falter
Photo by Olga Guryanova on Unsplash

“I’m sorry, I didn’t know that you are so sensitive.”

“You are an emotional person, I’m a focused guy.”

During my professional career, I heard such comments from people I’ve worked with. Whether it’s bad or wrong to be sensitive or emotional, I didn’t know the exact answer, but what I do know is that my work environment is very important to me and has a decisive role in making me succeed or fail at my job.

As I get older, the source of my motivation as a software engineer has changed. Technology is still important, but getting more money is no longer the factor that can push me to accept a job opportunity. Indeed, I can opt for an offer where I’ll earn less and refuse another one where I can get much more. The work environment is the major factor that I’m more and more interested in. How the workplace is looking, the team size, the impression that I get about my potential team members — all those parameters contribute to how I feel about my work.

While this is a personal recipe of how I check my ideal team and workplace, the subject of how to build the perfect team has puzzled me for a long time…

--

--

Rakia Ben Sassi
The Startup

Google Developer Expert in Angular, WTM Ambassador, a seasoned software engineer, Content Creator | YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@tekforge