ChatGPT Is Massively Overhyped. It’s Time We All Calmed Down.

ChatGPT is making people stupid

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
4 min readJan 24, 2023

--

Image Credit: Midjourney (source)

ChatGPT is everywhere.

It feels like artificial intelligence has already won. It’s grabbed our attention and transformed every workplace and career conversation.

I’m sick of it.

The pattern that ChatGPT follows is the same with every new trend or technology. It’s time to get reminded so you stop wasting your life jumping at ChatGPT shadows.

The ChatGPT story to slap you across the face

My friend is between jobs.

His savings ran out recently in the middle of the Aussie summer. One too many holidays he couldn’t afford.

Three days ago the bald man in his forties with four kids called me.

“Timbo, this ChatGPT thing is gonna change the world, I tell ya. All I need is $3000 a week to pay my bills and I’ll be sweet.”

Here’s his brilliant idea…

Recipes. Everyone knows they’re one of the most popular forms of content online. He’s going to get ChatGPT to write recipe books for him.

And the punchline?

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb