Choosing a co-founder is tough. Should you consider the solopreneur route instead?

Lessons from a solo startup founder

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

--

Originally published on JOTFORM.COM

50% of small businesses fail by the fifth year. 23% of the time, it’s simply because they didn’t elect the right team.

And, historically, co-founder disputes are a leading cause in the burning down of startups in early stages.

It’s devastating to think that a failed company could have had a chance if they had only invested in the right team. Just think of how many game-changing products we’ve probably lost out on because of personal disagreements.

Co-founders can be great, but many entrepreneurs waste their time searching for a perfect match, just because investors often favor teams over solopreneurs.

Contrary to the popular model of finding a co-founder to bear the brunt of your founding duties and responsibilities, I’m going to argue the opposite.

When I started JotForm, my model was always to take my time and do it on my own terms without necessarily following what the Silicon Valley startup culture is telling us to do.

I didn’t quit my day job until I knew I was ready to grow my business.

I didn’t follow my passion. Instead of meeting the hyper-growth expectations of…

--

--

Aytekin Tank
The Startup

Founder and CEO of www.jotform.com || Bestselling author of Automate Your Busywork. Find more at https://aytekintank.com/ (contact: AytekinTank@Jotform.com)