10 Coffee Shop Etiquette to Follow in the Mobile Age

Jacqueline Tydus
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJul 16, 2020

--

Photo by daan evers on Unsplash

As mobile workers who prefer to work in a cafe rather than the office, I’ve done my fair share of cafe hopping in search for an ideal place to work from. I came across a few “funny” characters and inappropriate behaviors that I wish to highlight here.

Nope, I’m not here to judge. I broke a few “rules” myself especially when I get too comfortable with the places I frequent. This list serves as a reminder to ourselves so we don’t annoy others and getting that evil stare in return.

  1. Pay attention to the barista while waiting for your order.

Your orders especially beverages are usually served to you at full service coffee outlets. However, with coffee chains like Starbucks, Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf, you’ll need to collect your beverages from the counter. If that’s the case, don’t wander too far off or disappear somewhere to make calls. First of all, the baristas will be calling out your name in vain. Second of all, your hot drinks might get cold. When that happens, you blame the baristas, ruining their day…and yours too.

2. Good coffee takes time.

--

--

Jacqueline Tydus
The Startup

Blogger and Game-based Learning Designer | I write about solopreneurship, gaming and learning.