Photo by Samuel Giacomelli on Unsplash

Complement Your Successful Career With a Side Hustle

Reasons to start a business even if you don’t have to

Bruce Flow
Published in
6 min readSep 14, 2018

--

You are happy with your 9-to-5 job. You are on track with your long-term career plans. Your compensation is enough to provide for the lifestyle you choose. Donuts and coffee are free. You feel appreciated at work. Your stock options are paying off.

If you are satisfied with your career, there is no financial need to start a side hustle. Nevertheless, you might want to for other reasons.

By profession, I am a software developer. I thoroughly enjoy my work. I am content where I am. I continue striving to achieve more in my career.

I am also a compulsive side hustler. My many past projects include an indie game studio and an e-commerce enablement project. Having a side hustle has enriched my life in many ways.

Here are some of the reasons why I think a side business is a good complement to an already successful career:

Reason 1: Emotional diversification

When you have a career you enjoy, you will be emotionally invested. There are no two ways about it.

When things go according to plan, you feel great. When tasks get completed, you get a feeling of accomplishment. Spirits…

--

--

Bruce Flow
The Startup

Polymath by calling. Software developer by profession. Student of the mind by nature.