Convert Your Javascript React App to TypeScript, the Easy Guide

Thomas Guibert
The Startup
Published in
8 min readNov 26, 2019

--

It’s been more than a year I’m using TypeScript in all my projects. Going back to a Javascript code base make me feel like a bull in a china shop. If I don’t know the project well, I might break it at any moment. My coworkers probably hate me at this point because I keep saying we should implement TypeScript in our project.

Most of the time, I would say the reason they doubt about the idea of moving to TypeScript is the lack of knowledge about it. Which results in a fear of technical debt and probably the scare of having too many new things to learn to feel proficient with TypeScript.

I can’t blame them! I was like this the day a colleague came to me to tell me we would have to use TypeScript from now on. I was like:

Meh, it works fine. Why should we make the code more complicated by adding types and weird stuff?

While converting a huge code base and learning all the features TypeScript brings could take a while and certainly won’t be done in a snap, it is really less scary as one might think.

Here are some answers to questions you might be asking yourself…

Will moving to TypeScript create legacy code?

--

--

Thomas Guibert
The Startup

Frontend engineer by day, ☀️ Aspiring Solidity engineer by night! 🌝 — Read more from me: https://medium.com/@th.guibert/membership