Creating Sustainable Routines in a Stage of Growth and Change

Sustainability and change can exist together.

Kimberly Charleson
The Startup
6 min readJan 13, 2022

--

Photo by Fabiola Peñalba on Unsplash

It's the beginning of the year, and like many of you, I feel the surge of motivation to make changes and set huge goals for the year ahead.

This year will be significant for me as it is, in business and my personal life. As work and life have ramped up with no end in sight, I have come to appreciate the real benefits of a sustainable, enjoyable routine.

SPOILER: I'm not going to share a 5 AM wakeup morning routine complete with two workouts, five chapters of a book, and a business call before breakfast.

No, that's not what this is about because, for most of us, that doesn't work, at least not when you're ready to make small changes. The name of the game is finding a sustainable, enjoyable practice that can stay with you through growth and change.

Sustainable routines keep you grounded and on track through the ups, downs, and unexpected.

I recommend you try these three things and create sustainable practices that can stick with you and even support you through growth and change.

Mindset

2021 was an eye-opener for me. I was introduced to the law of attraction, manifesting, and the power of mindset work.

Now ideally, I would love to do the following every single day:

  • Wake up each morning with the sun and do a meditation
  • Follow that up with yoga
  • Round it out with a journal entry

Of course, those things are incredibly beneficial and make for a positive mindset, but it's not sustainable for me. I do those things when I can, but the one thing I focus on every day is pretty bare-bones: Mindset.

As my business grows, my goals change, challenges pop up, whatever is thrown my way, I know our mindset changes with it.

I have dedicated myself to checking in with my thoughts, catching myself when I say or think something harmful or unnecessary, and reroute to something beneficial.

This isn't to say it doesn't take practice. You bet it is hard to notice, let alone control our negative thoughts. But the truth is, it's worth getting a handle on it. Mindset can significantly impact how we go about our day, the goals we set (and achieve), how we view the world, and how the world receives us.

If you're interested in working on your mindset this year sustainably, here are some ways I stay on track with it:

  • Listen to, read, and watch things that support a positive mindset (and get rid of the things that bring you down).
  • Download an app for daily affirmations (I use the app "I am" — Not sponsored!).
  • Put notes around the house or where you'll see them each day with a quote that resonates or an affirmation.

The most recent affirmation I received today on my phone is: "I focus on what is in my power- And ignore what I can't control."

Through the best and the worst of times, your mindset stays with you. Adding a practice that keeps your mindset on your priority list makes a difference, especially in uncertain times.

I recommend finding a small way to implement mindset work and positive thinking into your routine that you enjoy and see yourself doing every day.

Tip: Start super small by adding an "I am" affirmation to your daily to-do list like, "I am successful," or "I am capable." You'll be impressed with its impact.

Photo by carolyn christine on Unsplash

Morning Routine

Your daily routines don't have to be extravagant, pretty, or fancy. In the name of sustainability, it probably shouldn't be.

I recommend having a morning routine and filling it with whatever you like and what works for you (and helps you be your best).

While some people can effortlessly sustain an hour-long morning routine that includes listening to a podcast, their skincare routine, and breakfast with their family, others opt for a shorter timeframe and fewer tasks.

For instance, you might find a morning routine you sustain includes writing your to-do list for the day, enjoying coffee, and kissing your dog goodbye each morning.

✅ Planned the day

✅ Fueled the day

✅ Got in some feel-good dog time

Consistency in routine provides comfort and a sense of confidence. You can check off your morning routine each morning if you set yourself up for success with it.

That means:

  • Consider what you're capable of and what you can reasonably expect of yourself.
  • Opt for tasks you enjoy, not what you think you *should* be doing.
  • Try different things until you find your groove.

A morning routine should have no problem sticking around through growth and change in your life.

Here is my morning routine:

  1. I wake up at the same time each morning to a sunrise alarm (instead of being startled awake by a loud beep or other horrible noise).
  2. Throw on my WFH outfit (a fresh set of pajamas or a decent top if Zoom is in my future).
  3. I take my pills and do my hygiene thing.
  4. Head downstairs to settle my stomach with some breakfast (reminder: I'm growing a human, so this is critical).
  5. Writing my to-do list before reading emails.
  6. Fill up my water bottle and start chugging
  7. Open the blinds in my workspace (sometimes the couch, sometimes my office).
  8. Respond to messages on my phone and slack.
  9. Dive into my emails

This routine is essential to me for a few reasons: Writing a to-do list is not only an instant destresser, but it sets the tone for my day before new things are thrown my way via morning messages and emails.

Drinking water and letting light into my space let my brain and body know it's time to get moving, and I like to drink as much water each day as possible.

Reading and responding to my messages/emails are on the list, but last. It's last so I can focus on doing the rest of my routine without distraction, and it's on the list, so they don't go unopened for too long (or forgotten).

Bedtime Routine

We all know sleep is important, but before that, how about your bedtime routine? Your nighttime routines and habits set you up for rest but is also a great time to unwind, let go of the day, and move on to the next.

I use a nighttime routine to tease out the day's anxiety and find a truly relaxing time for myself.

A sustainable bedtime routine is minimal for me. I add things in here and there, but I do my best to hit these things every night:

  • Texts and apps "off" at 9:30 PM.
  • Read at least one chapter of a book.
  • Get to sleep at a reasonable hour.

While I would love to add in some journaling and meditation here, it isn't something I am in the mood for or even have the energy for every day.

There are aspirational routines and realistic ones that stay consistent every day. I allow myself to add to my nighttime and morning routines but never take away.

The three parts to my every night routine are important to me because they get me closer to the goals I have for the day, month, and year. Turning off the distractions, social media, and glow of a phone screen at night is great in general, but I feel myself relaxing easier and giving my full attention to other tasks.

Reading has become a hobby of mine to learn and find motivation through nonfiction, self-help, and memoirs, but it also is a form of self-care for myself.

And finally, getting to sleep at a reasonable hour. I slip up on this but is most important in times of change and growth. I do my best to sleep by 11:00 PM to ensure I get enough hours of sleep and prepare for an early wakeup.

The Name of the Game: Expectations

What I've learned is creating sustainable routines starts with recognizing your expectations. If you're expecting too much (or little) of yourself, it's not going to serve you, and you won't have a sustainable plan each day.

If you don't have sustainable routines yet, start today! Find what you like and what serves you best, and create practices you can stick to in every season of life to make a sense of calm, security, and consistency.

--

--

Kimberly Charleson
The Startup

Health + Wellness Content Writer. Coach to newbie freelance writers. Newly married with a baby on the way. IG - @kimcharleson