Dashboards in Python: 3 Advanced Examples for Dash Beginners and Everyone Else

Eric Kleppen
The Startup
Published in
14 min readFeb 3, 2020

--

A Second Look at Dash

I am diggin’ Dash so far, and I think Plotly offers a lot of customization when creating visualizations. Using them to power dashboards is simple if you’re familiar with a little Python. If you’re new to Dash, or have played around with a few concepts and want to see examples of advanced techniques, this article will help you bridge the gap! If you’re brand new to Dash and want to learn some basics while building something cool, check out my Intro to Dash article:

Improving the Dashboard

In the example covered in my Intro article, I explain how to create an interactive dashboard app that uses multiple tabs. Expanding on that example, I will show how to add the following to the dashboard:

Dynamic Droplist filters
A Heatmap
Navigation Bar

The complete code is available at the end of the article!

--

--