Dashboards in Python for Beginners using Dash — Exporting Data from a Dashboard

Learn Techniques to Build Professional Dashboards using Python

Eric Kleppen
The Startup

--

https://www.pexels.com/photo/working-woman-person-technology-7375/

Everyone Wants Data!

As a Product Analyst on a Data Science team, I have a lot of data at my finger tips and people want me to help them gain insight from it. I’ve been using Dash to create dashboards for our business teams because it enables me to quickly prototype and share visualizations, data tables, and other dashboardy things. Once you understand the patterns of the framework, it is easy to code a dashboard and get it up and running in an afternoon. I like using Dash because it gives me an opportunity to practice Python while building something that delivers insight to the people who need it. Even though I try to include all the information they want, one of the features people always request is the ability to export data from the dashboard.

How can I export data from a Dash app?

Dash doesn’t yet have a core component for that, so I scoured the community forums and came up with a solution that works well for small and large datasets!

Dash Refresher

Dash is an open source framework for Python written on top of Flask, Plotly.js, and React.js. If you’re…

--

--