DDD-Domain Driven Design or Deadline Driven Design?

Ryan Zhangcheng
The Startup
Published in
4 min readSep 3, 2020

--

When I asked my clients who know Domain Driven Design, less than 10% would nod their heads.

However when I asked who experienced Deadline Driven Design, almost all would laugh and feel connected.

Put the cart before the horse

Let me share an experience once I delivered DDD methodology to a customer.

BA(Business Analysis) Mr. T is the one I coached for adopting event storming and DDD methodology to analyse the requirement and do the design afterwards in Lab1. After a short break, we met again for a second project Lab2.“

We were standing in front of the following map which was completed by BA Mr. T. He looked quite puzzled with what he did.

User Stories Map Without Event Storming

I said: “So this is the user story you sorted out, But where is the event storming?”

Mr. T turned down a little bit his tone and avoided my eye contact as well, and said: “In Lab1, it seems to me that the output of event storming is just the user stories. So I thought it might be useful to come up with the user stories directly, so we can start the sprint more quickly. ”

--

--

Ryan Zhangcheng
The Startup

Red Hat Senior Consultant. Focus on App Dev, DevOps, OpenShift technology.