Dealing With An Egotistical Imbecile

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 4, 2018

--

Image Credit: American Psycho / Lions Gate Films

I walked into the office. It was the start of a new day and a new career.

There was a new boss in town. I was optimistic about what we could do together. He dressed well and had a good amount of energy and knowledge in his field of expertise. He wore a bright blue jacket with a pocket square.

A few days in, he asked me and another person to start publicly shaming anyone who wasn’t performing.

Forget about whether someone on the team was dealing with mental illness, trying to get pregnant and failing, dealing with sickness, overcoming the fact their parents had been in a car accident or had just broken up with their partner. All of this situations were occurring to people on the team by the way.

Public shaming and performance management became the new key phrases to my day. That was followed by “the customer is first and that’s what we should focus on.”

We’ve all heard that phrase a thousand times but is it an excuse to exert your ego and act like an imbecile? That was what I quietly thought to myself.

Image Credit: Glengarry Glen Ross Movie/New Line Cinema

The future was about to get rough. Everything I stood for was about to be challenged…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb