Angela
The Startup
Published in
7 min readOct 13, 2019

--

What’s Your Attachment Style? Understanding The Attachment Theory and Why It Is Important.

Dear life, WTF?

I always think about and laugh at (more like, face palm, roll my eyes, dramatically sigh/snort as loud as I can) all of the things that no one told us we’d have to figure out as adults. There are so many things that we were never taught, but I think that’s because our parents had no clue either. And unfortunately, many still don’t.

Disclaimer: I truly believe that all parents do the best they can with what they know. Our parents fucked all of us up in one way or another. The holy moment that we see them as children, to their parents, is usually when we’re working on ourselves in adulthood; only then is when we finally understand it all and can meet them where they are. I’ll get to that in another story. For now, back to us.

We’re living in this time and space where so much education available to us. We have the upper hand that our parents and their predecessors never did: to develop the skills to live lives full of abundance, emotional awareness/intelligence, personal development, and successful personal, social, professional, and most of all romantic relationships. I say “most of all” because I think this is where most of us feel like we struggle the most, or get it wrong. But we don’t have to.

--

--

Angela
The Startup

I am an elder millennial with an MA in psychology and life experience. I enjoy sharing what I’ve (un)learned in life and more.