Denial: the Mechanics of Lying to Ourselves

If we understand how it works, can we stop doing it? Can we help those we love stop doing it?

Chelsey Flood
The Startup
Published in
8 min readMay 31, 2019

--

Photo by Oscar Keys on Unsplash

Since getting sober I have become fascinated by the concept of denial, the experience of being in it, and the process of coming out of it.

For twenty years or more I was happy with my habit of heavy drinking. I would have unselfconsciously listed ‘drinking beer’ as a hobby until very recently before I quit. Drinking simply wasn’t a problem.

Was I in denial? Or did my drinking only become an issue in its latest stages?

Hanna Packard’s brilliant piece entitled ‘Denial and Addiction’ in Mind and Language, Volume 31, Issue 3 gave me a better insight into this mysterious self-protective defense system.

Here’s what I learned. And it doesn’t only apply to giving up booze.

What is denial anyway?

What do we even mean when we talk about denial? How is it possible for a person to lie to themselves? And if it is so easy, how can we tell whether or not we are doing it?

“Denial is commonly understood as a refusal to acknowledge the reality of one’s situation, when doing so would cause such psychological pain and distress. It therefore…

--

--