Deploy Container in ECS Fargate behind API Gateway & NLB for Secure Optimal Accessibility (with Terraform)

Build a secure and private VPC network infrastructure for your ECS Fargate application and setup a secure private integration with API Gateway

Lukonde Mwila
13 min readJun 28, 2020

Coming up with a title for this post was a tricky one, and I can hardly say that I nailed it. I definitely tried to craft it to capture the attention of potential readers to “sell it”. However, my goal wasn’t just to signal you with buzzwords. If any of the services mentioned in the title caught your attention then I think this post can be of value to you, primarily if you are concerned about not merely deploying containerised applications to the cloud, but also ensuring performant and secure accessibility to your containerised applications. If you’re new to containers and how they work, you can check out this recent post where I attempt to explain their ins and outs.

I’ll start by explaining what our architecture will look like and why we’ll be making use of the different components or services as part of the overall solution. As you can imagine, provisioning of this infrastructure can be a cumbersome process if you have to repeat it manually for different environments. I’ll be using Terraform as the IaC…

--

--