Ditch Motivational Books And Everything Else You Don’t Need To Stay Focused

A deep dive into business motivational tools that cost you money, time and too much effort.

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
The Startup
Published in
8 min readFeb 8, 2024

--

The motivational battle
The motivational battle | Image created on Canva

Why are we spending big (time, money, effort) on motivation for our business?

It’s a question I keep asking myself as I wander down the motivational aisle at my local bookstore.

You know the type of motivation that I mean.

  • The framed motivational poster you hung on your wall
  • The little book of quotes, one you read each morning with your much-needed cup of coffee
  • The worksheet from an inspirational guru about finding what inspires you and seeking it out each day

It’s fun collecting motivation because you feel like you have something other people don’t. You have the key to your success. If you’re a motivation hoarder, you can’t fail.

Well, you can fail.

I’m not here to crap all over where you find your motivation or how you push through the times when you feel like doing everything else but hustling.

But I’m not going to let you fall into the trap of assuming buying motivational books, people, and apps will gain you success.

--

--

Ellen "Jelly" McRae
The Startup

I’m here to use my wins and losses in #relationships as your cautionary tale | Writes 1LD; Cautionary tale women's fiction | https://linktr.ee/ellenjellymcrae