Do You Ever Feel Like an Impostor?

Thoughts on impostor syndrome, painful writing, and switching careers

Kesten Harris
The Startup

--

Photo by Aiony Haust on Unsplash

Do you ever feel like you’re not actually meant to be a writer?

When I wrote my first book series, The Explorer, I was fueled by how much I loved the story and its characters. However, that didn’t stop me from questioning every decision I made. As with every story, the series went through countless revising and rewriting. I changed it more times than I can count.

Every time I made a major change, I’d feel satisfied. I thought that the new change fixed an aspect of the story that I didn’t like.

Then a month later, I’d hate the change.

I’d curse myself for ruining my own story. I felt like I didn’t deserve to write it anymore. I considered quitting. I didn’t want to finish the series. I pushed through and did it anyway. I couldn’t stop at just one or two novels. I had to see it through to the end.

I had to fight myself to finish my own series.

I think it was worth it, but there are days when I’m unsure. I’ll look back on one storyline that I thought was executed well, but then I’ll think of one that I didn’t like and curse the whole series. It’d be more rational to ignore the part that disappoints me, but when have our…

--

--

Kesten Harris
The Startup

Kesten E. Harris is a self-published author and freelance writer. He’s responsible for The Explorer and this mailing list: https://bit.ly/2SkXash