Don’t Become a Freelancer

Especially If You Want Freedom

Kurtis Pykes
The Startup

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

I was wrong about freelancing.

As you may or may not know, I freelance.

This entire story may sound a little hypocritical.

I’m not gonna tell you the qualities that make certain individuals unsuitable for freelancing.

When I say “Don’t become a freelancer,” I mean it.

Don’t get me wrong, freelancing has its pros.

For example, it can be a great way to supplement your income as you continue as an employee or while you pivot out of full-time work and get yourself settled.

But there’s some inherent flaws that make it a terrible long-term solution — especially if freedom is the goal.

As I write, I’m in the middle of two contracts that pay me more than enough to look after myself and have a better-than-average quality of life.

The only downside is it’s at the expense of my time.

I must do the work the clients have asked of me if I wanna get paid.

Each new contract is more work.

There’s naturally a limit on how much I can take on cos of time constraints.

--

--

Kurtis Pykes
The Startup

SaaS Content Writer | Sharing everything I learn as I build my solo business to $10M in revenue