Elon Musk is wrong.

The Future of Artificial Intelligence and the Fate of Humanity

Anthony Galli
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 20, 2018

--

Elon Musk believes artificial intelligence is beyond human control…

“A.I. isn’t necessarily bad it’s just definitely going to be outside of human control.”

Since he believes we can’t stop A.I., he concludes we should merge with it, i.e. humans become cyborgs

“The merge scenario with A.I. is the one that seems probably the best like if you can’t beat it, join it.”

But it’s because I agree with his analysis that “A.I. will be used as a weapon” that I disagree with his conclusion that A.I. is unstoppable…

You may rightly question my credibility on this subject because after all I’m not an A.I. developer, but fundamentally this A.I. debate is not a question of A.I., but one of politics, hence why the opinion I’m about to put forth is not one that is likely to come from an A.I. developer who is staring straight into the eyes of God.

--

--