THE GREAT WORK-FROM-HOME PLOY

Employers Plan To Shift Office Expenses to Employees

Dumping office overhead at what cost?

Tina L. Smith
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJan 4, 2021

--

Photo by Raj Rana on Unsplash

My last day in the office was March 13, 2020.

Like many office workers across the U.S., that was the day I packed up my laptop, riffled through my desk drawers for quarters and folding money, and walked to my car with a smile on my face. It felt like the beginning of a strange adventure — an unknown leave-of-absence from office life. With plans to keep in touch via text, Zoom, and email, we bid giddy farewell to our coworkers for, what? A few weeks or months? Yeah, probably a few months.

A life-threatening pandemic was underway; it had to be done. Without question, many lives have been saved because most office workers stayed home. I happily complied to remain healthy AND to reduce the chance for virus spread.

Working at home sounds ideal. Sleeping in a little later with no commute time, slipping on yoga pants and a comfy tee, having the comfort of pets around us at all times. Oh, and saving money on gas and miles on vehicles. According to my calculations, I’ve saved exactly 220 gallons of gas, which translates to about $490 in my neck of the woods.

--

--

Tina L. Smith
The Startup

Writer, humorist, animal lover, lifelong language geek (er, I proofread for fun). I write on diverse topics that catch my fancy. Everything but haiku(tm). [she]