Entrepreneurs and Artists: One in the Same

Daniel Tracey Holloran
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJul 11, 2018

My journey’s the same as anyone else’s — I started as a baby and evolved from there. In my opinion, my professional development has been somewhat… eccentric. As I write this, I’ve written two-thirds of my first novel, been part of two failed startups, one acquisition, and I’m only 26.

Where It Began

I vividly remember having a conversation with classmates at the University of Denver, as I studied Finance, that I didn’t want to wear a suit and tie to work everyday. (Should’ve seen the writing on the wall…)

And what was the first thing I did after college? I took a job wearing a suit and tie as a banker (oh the irony). Maybe five days post-graduation, I started my first full-time, no-end-in-sight, “big boy” job. As I watched many of my peers do the same, I also watched a number take time to travel the world, explore new cultures, try innovative careers, and dive wholeheartedly into wondrous unknowns.

For nearly two years I felt as if I was watching my own life from the sideline. But, as I approach 3 years from the end of my banking career, I can’t help but appreciate everything I learned during this time. I learned how to operate in a workplace, I became versed in collaboration as well as autonomy, I made connections with amazing people, and above all, I learned to cherish sacrifice, hard work, patience, and creativity.

Developing A Love of Startups

It was during this time of sacrifice (nearly a year of it spent living on a couch) that I found who I truly was and who I wanted to be. As most good stories begin, it started with a good friend.

My friend worked in startups and was heavily involved in the Boulder tech community. What he did always seemed incredibly difficult to me. Even in college, I always knew I wanted to pursue some type of entrepreneurial venture, but I knew absolutely nothing about where to start.

He took time to show myself and another friend of ours how to host a WordPress-based website locally on your computer, some basics of content management systems, the high-level concepts of SEO, and where I could start learning HTML and CSS online.

As I learned more, I wanted to learn, and do, even more. My drive to continuously improve, in association with the skills I’d been learning, led me to eventually leave my job as a banker and take my first job at a startup. From there, I fell in love with the speed, determination, and creativity involved in working at a startup.

The Creative Side

Because I’ve always felt two steps behind, I not only worked on developing professional skills but personal ones. Both of my parents worked as sketch writers, actors, and singers throughout much of my childhood. My mom, a talented seamstress, also did a bit of costume design and even went on to teach music at the local elementary school for a number of years.

I believe my upbringing led me to feeling as if my post-grad life was lacking a certain level of creativity. When I was starting to build and maintain websites, I found that my true love and passion lied in the content on the websites. I had always been a ravenous reader and I guess it became apparent over time that I wanted to be an adamant writer too.

So I started writing… In addition to digital content writing, I started writing short stories, a personal journal, a novel, a TV script, and now — even trying my hand at writing standup comedy.

In life, there are only a few stories that always stick with you. In order for you to understand why I believe creativity is so important in all industries, all walks of life, I’d like to share two quick stories that depict this.

My Mom and Dad

(Please excuse me and my brother’s spiky haircuts…)

Story from my dad: When I was around 10 or 11 years old, my parents decided to direct a local high school musical. A friend of theirs approached them to see if there was any interest. My parents were very hesitant. It would take up a lot of time, there was very little pay, and they would be trying to rein in high school students

But, after thoughtful consideration, my parents accepted the duty. And to this day, my dad will tell you it’s one of the most fulfilling things he’s ever done in his life. For many years previously, the school simply had no theater department at all. My parents were extremely proud to give those kids a chance to experience something so close to their own hearts.

And hearing my dad talk about how the faces of these kids lit up after their first live performance will make even the saddest person smile. For the next four or so years, my parents continued to direct the musicals and give these students the opportunity they so desperately wanted. Many years later, my parents were even invited to a number of these student’s weddings!

The impact of such a small event on the community and in those student’s lives continues to stick with me. Giving people a creative outlet and opportunity to try new things and discover themselves can change a person’s life.

Story from my mom: Unfortunately, my mom passed away when I was 16. But some of my fondest memories come from us reading Harry Potter together by the river when I was a child. My mom strongly believed that an education in creative fields (music, writing, acting, singing, art, etc.) could also help you better learn and retain other concepts in more traditional educational fields (science, math, etc.).

It’s where I believe I inherited my love of reading and writing. And over time, I’ve come to believe the same as my mom. Not only do I believe it makes you more resilient, but it makes you a better, more empathetic person. This concept is the entire reason I’ve sat down to write this post.

The Connection: Artists and Entrepreneurs

People tend to think of entrepreneurs as cut-your-throat, wunderkind, savant-type masterminds. I disagree. Sure, there’s always an exception to the rule, but I generally think entrepreneurs are simply hard working, patient, sacrificial, and creative just like artists.

Entrepreneurs are the same person selling their artwork at the local coffee shop, it’s just a different market. A novelist’s desk is the same as a small startup’s co-working space. A founder’s journey to raising venture capital is the same as a screenwriter’s journey to getting their TV pilot picked up. A musician’s first time selling out a venue seems the same as a startup’s successful acquisition or IPO.

There are countless examples of the likenesses..

One last thought: I don’t remember where I heard this, but it really resonated with me: People will buy Kanye West’s new sneakers for $400, but won’t support their friend’s e-commerce business by purchasing a $30 t-shirt.

I’m proud of what I do because I get to blend my inner artist with my inner entrepreneur. Do your part. Support your friends, local artists, entrepreneurs, and businesses. Not only financially, but morally. We have a moral obligation to continue to prop up the creatives, innovators, and dreamers of the future.

(Because I love their ads and it’s the best place I could think of sending people, go to State Farm’s Neighborhood of Good website to help find local charities to support.)

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by 343,876+ people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Daniel Tracey Holloran
The Startup

Writer, Storyteller. Content & Product Marketer creating a better world, one word at a time! @DanHolloran