Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

Every New Freelancer’s Greatest Challenge — Pricing their Services

Athirah Syamimi
The Startup

--

Situations, where I put a value on myself, is nerve-wracking. It’s so uncomfortable but it has to be done. If you don’t see your worth, nobody will.

Recently, I started getting into freelance work and the hardest part is quoting a price for my work.

The very first project I had, it took me half a day to finally let them know how much it’ll cost. And when they didn’t get back to me within an hour, I thought I blew it.

I was so anxious last night as I waited for them to agree on the price. I kept thinking, maybe I should drop them a text and lower the price. Instead, I went argued with myself that I deserve that amount. And I went to bed.

The next day, they agreed to my quote price. See, they believe in my worth.

Not everyone will see the value you put out

I’ve set a price on my work and to some, it’s too expensive. And they’ll say things to try and get you to (greatly) lower your price.

“Oh we can get it cheaper somewhere else”

“Can you do it for free? It’ll be good for your portfolio”

--

--

Athirah Syamimi
The Startup

Writing about life, side hustling and content creation.