Excitement and Nervousness

Michelle Monet
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2019

--

Two sides of the same coin.

GETTY IMAGE

Have you ever been sooo excited about something but on the other hand you were freaked out beyond belief too?

A friend of mine mentioned this to me today when I told her about the dichotomy in my brain about my upcoming Musical Concert Tour.

“Two voices are talking to you. The excited joyous voice and the one who wants to pull back. Approach Avoidance.”

Ohhhh Approach Avoidance? Never heard of that but yeah I definitely feel two energies here.

One energy is beautiful, joyful, big, creative, excited, peaceful, on course, inspired, full of life, hopeful, confident, calm.

The other voice is scared, nervous, panicky, small, freaked out, shaky, sad — on the verge of throwing up!

Hmm. I’ve written so much about the duality of life and here I am again feeling this today!

Ironically I ran across this article today by singer Adele. I could relate so much to her dichotomy.

She emotionally explains why she may never tour again.

She said, ‘I feel too “vulnerable” singing on stage in front of thousands of…

--

--

Michelle Monet
The Startup

Musician. Author. Poet. Seeker. Currently writing Showbiz Memoir and Broadway style Musical. My 5 books are on Amazon. Contact: 1020monet@gmail.com