Exhaustion Can Be Disguised As Laziness.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
4 min readFeb 14, 2019

--

Image Credit: iStock

Chip Heath and Dan Heath made this idea famous and then Tim Ferriss shared it with his millions of followers.

It’s the idea that when we get lazy, it could be something else. We’re not born lazy but when we have the ‘hustle till you die’ attitude we become burnt out.

Chip and Dan believe that our laziness can often be a result of being exhausted. It’s so easy to be hard on ourselves and say we’re lazy.

Everything we read on the internet tells us to work harder, and produce more, and achieve more. We’re surrounded by people working harder than us and this can lead to feelings of guilt.

The result of this comparison syndrome with other people’s success is that we burn out. We keep working until we’re physically and emotionally exhausted.

My obsession with entrepreneurship made me lazy.

In 2011, I experienced burn out. I was completely exhausted and quit the business I helped start.

For the next couple of years, I took a job where I had no responsibility, and for a moment, I thought I’d become lazy. I thought that because I didn’t want to do the difficult work of entrepreneurship, I’d become permanently lazy.

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb