Explain by Example: CosmosDB

Michelle Xie
The Startup
Published in
11 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Since I’m going to be giving a spiel (or two) about Data and AI at Microsoft Ignite later on this year, I decided it’s about time I stopped ignoring the Data guys and what better way to get to know them than to take them on a virtual date (I’m still in full lockdown and can’t see anyone anyway) so I decided to go on a virtual date with Cosmos (his full name is Azure CosmosDB but he likes to go by the nickname, Cosmos).

Anyway, here is a summary how the virtual date went…

Hey Cosmos, thanks for doing this virtual date with me, so what do you do for a living?

No worries, I’m glad you picked me. Some people are a little afraid of me because they think I’m trying to replace that SQL guy who used to be super popular but I’m actually a pretty cool guy once you get to know me. And, not to boost my own ego here but people kind of fall in love with me once they realize I’m not that mysterious. Anyway, I work in this field called “Databases” and I store things for a living.

Oh cool, what kind of things do you store? I might be moving houses soon. Do you do furniture storage?

Nah, not furniture storage. I store data which is why I’m in the Databases field but I don’t have strict requirements like that SQL guy. I’m a bit more chill and laid back than he is. SQL likes to plan ahead of time, he tells…

--

--

Michelle Xie
The Startup

I like to write (and it turns out, not just code)! I am currently the creator and author of the ‘Explain by Example’ series and the ‘bad ideas’ blog.