Explain By Example: Networking

Michelle Xie
The Startup
Published in
16 min readMar 25, 2020

--

So I met up with a friend recently and like all friends do, we caught up on our dating lives. She brought forth an interesting concept whereby she used, ‘ The Market for Lemons’, an economics theory which proposed the idea that when we have asymmetric information in a market between buyers and sellers, the good quality “peaches” become undervalued and the bad quality “lemons” become overvalued and in the end, we end up with too many lemons in life. Then we had a good laugh about how asymmetric information doesn’t just distort markets but it can also distort other things in life, like relationships.

And then I thought to myself, wouldn’t it be great if we could set up Firewalls to protect ourselves from bad relationships?

So then, I started thinking about what kind of Firewalls I would need. But first, let’s talk about the OSI model and the TCP/IP model.

The OSI Model?

Yes, the Open Systems Interconnection Model or the OSI model. I’m not going to lie, networking brings me more pain than joy but it’s important to understand how to do networking properly because if done incorrectly, it will bring even more pain just like bad relationships. I’ve always had trouble remembering the 7 layers of the OSI model so today, I will create the OSI (Relationship) model which looks at how a couple interacts with one another:

--

--

Michelle Xie
The Startup

I like to write (and it turns out, not just code)! I am currently the creator and author of the ‘Explain by Example’ series and the ‘bad ideas’ blog.