Failing to create a boring spreadsheet nearly killed my online course

Why tedious organizational work is critical to any personal project you’re creating

Kai Wong
The Startup

--

A woman staring at her laptop with her hands on her head. Additional notebooks and organizers are all around her
Photo by energepic.com: https://www.pexels.com/photo/woman-sitting-in-front-of-macbook-313690/

Imagine a young father of two who wants to create an online course. Between caring for the kids and a full-time job, he can only work on it at 3 AM before the world demands too much of him.

At that early hour, what should he first work on? If you said recording videos, putting together slides, or more, you made the same mistake that I did.

The father (I.e., I) should have planned out his time, reviewing a checklist of tasks and a spreadsheet of progress. That’s the best way to make slow, effective progress, but I ignored that.

As a result, I blew past my self-imposed deadlines and nearly killed my online course.

How my writing process nearly destroyed my online course

In some ways, I fit perfectly the myth of the lone writer.

Most of my writing, books, and online courses happened the same way: I’d wake up at 3 AM, dive into a deep writing session, and “somehow” weave it into a book or coherent educational lesson.

--

--

Kai Wong
The Startup

7xTop writer in UX Design. UX, Data Viz, and Data. Author of Data-Informed UX Design: https://tinyurl.com/2p83hkav. Substack: https://dataanddesign.substack.com