WORK & LIFE

Finally Said Goodbye After 7 Years With The Same Employer

Change is inherent to growth, and you must embrace it

Felix Otoo
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 3, 2023

--

Photo by RDNE Stock project

Employee loyalty is a rare currency in the corporate world these days. In sharp contrast to the older generation, the younger generations of Millennials and Gen Zs are considered as the job-hopping generation. The average young employee spends averagely two years on the same job according to a Gallup report.

Personally, I believe sometimes breaking with this job-hopping mindset amongst the younger generation and determining to stick with the same company a little longer could present more good than mostly discussed.

In the spirit of this believe, loyalty is what I have offered my employer for the last seven years. Straight out of college, my employer presented me with the opportunity and that was the start of my professional career as a Software Engineer. The unique and fast paced nature of the Oil & Gas industry they operated in granted me multiple opportunities to learn and become better — both technically and socially. The work environment challenged me to take on more than I believed I could, and I proved myself each time with every challenge how much more there is within myself to offer.

--

--