“Find Something You Love and You’ll Never Work a Day in Your Life” Is Horrible Advice

Your quest for loving what you do might be ruining your life

Sinem Günel
The Startup

--

Photo by Tim Samuel from Pexels

I first came across inspirational quotes like “Find something you love and you’ll never have to work a day in your life” at the age of 19.

I was only halfway through my business studies, but I already knew that a corporate job wouldn’t give me the sense of fulfillment these quotes promised.

And to be honest, I did believe that work would never feel like work if you love what you do.

I was one of the millions of people who got tricked and believed it’s possible to have a job or business that’s all sunshine and glitter.

Based on that belief, I started my own business because I was sure loving what I do would be easier if I’m my own boss.

But you know what? That’s nonsense.

You can love what you do and still work hard

According to a survey by Gallup, more than 65% of employees across the globe don’t feel engaged in their job.

They’re not passionate about their roles, don’t care about going the extra mile, and are not really interested in creating something new or better.

--

--

Sinem Günel
The Startup

I help you create a business and life you love. ⚡ Start here: https://mwa.ck.page/5day