Finding Clients is Exhausting. Let Them Come to You.

Here’s a blueprint for securing high-paying clients without using Upwork/Freelancer/Fiverr

Scott Stockdale
The Startup

--

Photo by Rich Ortiz on Pexels

I’ve spent the last week sending proposals on Upwork and Freelancer. Literally four hours a day in my local library.

And guess how many responses I’ve had?

Nada.

It’s pretty crushing.

Now I know a week isn’t a long time, and I can’t knock these platforms. Other freelancers have had tremendous success.

The thing is, I’ve had a taste of another world.

A world where:

  • You don’t have to take on a bunch of small jobs to get those all-important reviews
  • Clients offer more than $0.05/word
  • Quality > quantity

I currently have four freelance clients. They’re all lovely to work with, and they all pay well.

Three of them reached out to me directly:

All screenshots by the author

I found my fourth client through this Patreon page.

--

--

Scott Stockdale
The Startup

Writer & SEO Instructor | 1M+ views on Medium | Host of Entrepreneurs Can Party 🎉 scottstockdale.co.uk