Finding Patterns

Venkat
The Startup
Published in
6 min readOct 3, 2020

--

Image by Author

This post is my early attempt at making sense of human relevance in the age of machine dominance. For my children’s sake.

As a parent of a teenager, I want to make sense of the brave new world we have created — one where AI competes with us in the knowledge economy. I spent a good portion of my non-working hours pondering, with plenty of help to boot. I watched a series of TED talks, listened to many podcasts, read a bunch of books by smart people, discussed with my wife and friends, and reminisced my early teenage years devoid of computers or the internet. I feel better informed to equip my child:

Collaborate, Communicate, Create. Learn to ask the right questions!

AI: Coming of Age

The fourth industrial revolution has brought us Artificial Intelligence (AI). My remembering-self bears witness to four seismic shifts as I approach mid-forties.

  1. Personal computers penetrated homes in the mid-eighties.
  2. The mid-nineties brought us the Internet and the World Wide Web.
  3. By mid-two-thousands, the Smartphone had replaced many verbs.
  4. The AI revolution accelerated around 2015 shows no signs of slowing down.

Many of my age have witnessed three or perhaps, all four shifts. Most recently, the coming of age of AI is…

--

--