Finding Peace in the Detours of Life

No Saint Jennifer
The Startup
Published in
5 min readNov 18, 2019

--

“Dammit!” I poured water down the sink drain and it leaked out the pipes into the cabinet below, again.

Four hours into my repair of what I thought was going to be an easy fix, I felt deflated. I had to stop or be late to pick up my niece and nephew from school.

The day had started out optimistically enough writing a blog post. Maybe I was becoming too cocky about the life peace I’d been experiencing though. Ever since writing Freaking Out! Again. I’ve been trusting more in the voice inside me, taking each step as it comes, and not worrying about what’s next or if it’s the “right” step.

Fixing the leak had been part of listening to that voice. Puddles had been mysteriously appearing under the sink intermittently for a few weeks. That day, though, I’d finally understood the cause and felt impelled to repair it immediately despite having plenty of “higher priority” tasks. So why wasn’t it resolved easily if I was following my inner voice?

Had it just been me, my frustrated attempt would have been disappointing, but not stressful. Because I had a housemate, however, I worried about inconveniencing her. Thus, even though I realized early on that I needed a different part that I couldn’t obtain until the next day, I kept trying to work around that reality.

--

--

No Saint Jennifer
The Startup

Chronicling her journey to loving herself in day-to-day life. Follow her on nosaintjennifer.com, and as @nosaintjennifer on facebook, instagram, and twitter.