Finish The Year Strong- No Matter How It Started

Michele Attias
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 27, 2019

--

Life is passing us by so fast.

We’re at the end of the year and before we jump frantically into the next one, we need to stop and recalibrate. If you had a sloppy start to the year, then even more so.

I actually find it helpful to use the end of a year as a way of making my resolve even stronger.

Let me define the word ‘strong’.

Strong doesn’t necessarily mean successful, wealthy, famous or having the capability of earning yourself a celebrity status. It simply requires that you become the grounded tree trunk that stays firm, no matter how many winds forcefully try to uproot you, and from this state, being able to choose how you move forewords.

This is how we build our strength.

Instead of seeing New years eve as a door firmly locked and bolted; in between the champagne and fireworks display, I see it as a conduit by which I can enquire. A way I can gain data about where my playing field is and decide if that’s where I want to continue to play.

Questions offer a tremendous point of inquiry, a wise point of reference which shouldn’t be used as a demoralizing tool or an excuse to flagellate daily. It’s performed free of judgment and with plenty of compassion for yourself.

--

--

Michele Attias
The Startup

Creative Writer & Author of ‘Look Inside: Stop Seeking Start Living’.