Photo by Yunus G on Unsplash

Flutter App Architecture

Julius Canute
The Startup
6 min readDec 15, 2019

--

Introduction

I am learning to develop apps using Flutter, and I find it very useful and efficient to do cross-platform development. There are a vast number of resources available online on how to build attractive user interfaces. Still, when it comes to the architecture of the flutter application, a lot of us have different opinions on what is best.

In this article, I have used a Redux based architecture for developing the sample application, as it helped me in managing the states effectively. A state generally contains the information that is used by various screens to render the loaded data.

Making the right architectural decisions simplify the layering of the application and make future changes less painful. I believe the Redux based architecture illustrated in this article helped me in that simplification.

Objective

Our focus is to develop a mobile application that allows the user to record their emotional experience throughout the day.

The app has the following functionalities:

  • List all saved emotions
  • Select a felt emotion
  • Add a description to the emotion
  • View saved emotions

--

--

Julius Canute
The Startup

I am a Mobile Developer interested in learning and sharing new ideas. Also, I 💖 to architect and code.