Formatting Excel Graphs Using VBA

From initial graph creation to common formatting changes

Pendora
The Startup

--

Charts and Graphs compose a large portion of a business professional’s time at work. They are used to show rows of data in a simple and visually appealing way. In my workplace, three main types of charts are the most common, (1) Bar Graphs, (2) Line Graphs, (3) Pie Charts. Combinations of these graphs exist and are also possible to implement in VBA. Once you know how to use VBA for one type of chart, you’ll be able to use it for all of the types.

VBA is a great tool to use with Excel, despite a ton of Python libraries. I wanted to use Python for all of my projects and work productivity improvements but found that Python wasn’t the best for Microsoft Excel. Excel VBA was made to assist with VBA, and I’ve found it to be much more useful compared to the Python alternatives. For example, all of the features for an Excel graph can be changed within the Excel environment, as VBA accounts for all of them, whereas alternatives may not.

Photo by Big Dodzy on Unsplash

The reason I thought of this topic to write about was due to having such a hard time finding this information in the first place. Through combing multiple websites, and learning the basics, I was finally able to put together enough knowledge to complete my simple project. These automation projects have helped me…

--

--

Pendora
The Startup

Investment banker, global citizen interested in the pursuit and sharing of knowledge. Inquiries to pendorapubs@gmail.com