Freelance Tips

What to Include on Your Freelance Portfolio Website

A simple guide to using a website to position yourself professionally

Krista Aoki
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 26, 2020

--

I write this post sipping an Italian coffee from a café in Vietnam reflecting on my last 3 or 4 months of freelancing. Last October, an American agency who contributed to over 50% of my monthly income stopped sending me recurring work. This shock to my monthly income pushed me to start thinking about how I presented myself professionally online, like on my freelance website.

It’s easy to overlook this sometimes, but we live in an incredibly global society. More and more businesses turn to tools on the Internet to accomplish their goals.

As a freelancer, having a searchable website in a gig economy is an asset. I work with clients from places like Spain, Poland, Taiwan, and the USA — largely due to the way I represent myself online.

Even as a WordPress website designer, my own website featured the absolute minimum. Until a few months ago, it was a single page with one paragraph explaining what I do, links to side projects I work on, links to social media and a contact form.

Sometimes, because (a lack) of time or money, we have to start with the minimum. But it’s also an important life skill to…

--

--

Krista Aoki
The Startup

I write about personal identity, brand storytelling, + multicultural life. https://kristaaoki.com | https://kapwastudio.co