Photo by redcharlie on Unsplash

You Think Freelancing Means Freedom? Think Again

Ask yourself these 5 questions first to find out

Marilyn Wo
The Startup
Published in
11 min readMay 15, 2019

--

“The best way to get better is to decide who you want to become.” — Seth Godin

The phone rang.

Bad timing.

Just when I was scrambling to complete my client’s work before the given deadline.

It was my son’s preschool teacher. Ashley caught the Hand Foot Mouth Disease (HFMD), which means he has to be taken out of school immediately to prevent other kids from getting infected.

I had to drop what I was doing and pick him, there was no other way. My mother-in-law has always been a great help to us and we could conveniently trouble her to pick him instead. But HFMD is highly contagious. I will feel terribly bad if she caught it too.

The phone rang again.

“Where’s the draft? I really need this today, okay…”

Not the school this time, but my client. You’ll only love them until this point. Then I saw myself saving my files and closing my laptop with a big sigh.

It was a sigh of “not again?”

Those were times that made me dread being a mother and freelancer at the same…

--

--