Fuck Hustling — 3 Habits You Don’t Need to Be Successful

Kieran MacRae
The Startup
Published in
5 min readSep 2, 2022

--

I defined my own success and you should too

Photo by Justin Veenema on Unsplash

Hustling Is Bullshit

That’s right I said it. I don’t believe hustle culture is a good thing or even necessary for success.

Even the word isn’t a good one.

If someone hustled you in the street they probably tricked you out of your money or your time.

You don’t want to feel hustled at the end of an interaction. And no, hustling other people doesn’t feel good either.

That said.

I do believe in hard work.

I do believe in showing up every day.

I do believe you have to give a lot to achieve success.

But what you don’t need to do is fall into the social media hustle culture and think you have to work 18 hours a day.

Pulling an Elon and falling asleep at your desk for a few hours a night only to wake up and do it all again the next day isn’t a good way to live.

It’s one-dimensional.

Work success that you hustle for probably sacrifices every other part of your life, friends, romantic partners, hobbies, health, and general wellbeing.

--

--

Kieran MacRae
The Startup

Writer, Marketer, Podcaster. Sign up to my newsletter and you'll learn how to grow the podcast https://platform-podcasting.ck.page/5943ab8111