Gamification in 2018 — What do you need to look out for?

Albert van der Meer
The Startup
Published in
7 min readJan 6, 2018

--

As my first post in 2018 and to get back into the swing of things, I thought I’d join in and jump on the bandwagon with my colleagues in the Gamification field and write a “What’s coming in 2018 for Gamification” post.

Though this will be mostly my personal impressions that are backed by what other leaders in the field have said and what the various industry research reports and institutions have released. My personal impressions are based on what I’ve seen and written about in my blogs in 2017, and then a few bits of inspiration taken from Gamification Nation, Gamified UK, Forbes, Gallup, Gartner, etc…

The general sentiment from each of these is that there will both be an increase and a decline. A paradox I know, but it generally refers to a maturing of the market and a culling of it. The competition will increase and as a result, the cream will rise to the top.

Maturation and the end of the Hype

As various leaders in the field have mentioned so far this year, 2018 will hopefully be a year where we see the Gamification sector mature and a year where the hype surrounding gamification will slowly fizzle out.

I believe this to be true, but it is not something that is wholly set to happen in 2018. It has been happening for a…

--

--

Albert van der Meer
The Startup

Audience Engagement & Behavioural Design Consultant, Writer & Author of Press Start // more info & services @ aestranger.com