BUSINESS SCHOOL

Getting Into the Deferred MBA Programs at Harvard and Stanford

Arinze Obiezue
The Startup
8 min readDec 5, 2020

--

Stanford Graduate School of Business | Stanford, California

A few months ago, I was accepted into the deferred enrollment program at the Stanford Graduate School of Business (Stanford GSB) and the 2+2 Program at Harvard Business School (HBS).

For context, these deferred MBA programs are simply another route to the MBA program where “high potential” students in their final year of undergrad or a master’s program are offered early admission to the business school with the flexibility to work for 2–4 years before matriculating. As someone who didn’t think he stood a chance of getting admitted to either Stanford GSB or HBS, I was beyond dumbfounded when I got into both schools.

I knew I wanted to apply to these programmes from my first year of undergrad. Based on the trajectory I’d envisioned for my life, I knew that an MBA was necessary to bolster my business skills, broaden my understanding of different sectors, and build key relationships across cultures and continents. But I was still shocked when I got admitted.

Despite the knowledge that I did my best to put together a strong application, I couldn’t believe that out of all the equally high-achieving applicants, the admission boards at the two most selective business schools in the world decided to pick me? It felt unreal; even more so when…

--

--