Gmail’s Latest Consent Box Is a Privacy Mousetrap

Pen Magnet
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 7, 2020

--

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Disclaimer: This article is about the free version of Gmail (yourname@gmail.com). I haven’t tried Gmail for business, or G-suit, and do not know if it applies to them or not.

When I logged into my Gmail today, I saw a consent box asking me a bizarre set of permissions:

Courtesy: Gmail

Due to my inherent skepticism for anything that offers a smartcut (smart shortcut), I clicked Turn Off + Next to proceed.

Here is what I saw after clicking Next:

Courtesy: Gmail

I was baffled.

My first instinct was: Was this designed by a professional UX designer? How can Google expect me to flip a switch to turn-on/turn-off 12 features of Gmail?

Or was this someone who passed out from Google’s $49 courses that included User Experience design?

How can Google expect me to flip a switch to turn-on/turn-off 12 features of Gmail?

--

--

Pen Magnet
The Startup

Author of Comprehensive Approach to Senior Developer Interview), Startup writer, Programmer, Tech Career Blogger, Education Engagement Enthusiast