Go All In on Your Obsession. It’s What You Were Born to Do.

Many of us have an obsession hiding in plain sight

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
5 min readApr 5, 2023

--

Image Credit- Midjourney

Careers make no sense to me anymore.

They’re lightweight. Many people fall for the delusion that they like their career based on the current and future money they can earn from it.

No one wants to admit that. It’s like saying you went to a strip club.

But it’s true. The modern career is where you settle for a type of work based on little research and your inner fortune-telling ability to lie to yourself.

It’s sad. Obsession is a different path.

Obsession hides in strange places

I never knew I had an obsession.

I called them hobbies or side hustles. First it was drums, then DJing, and later, writing. I took up these hobbies outside of work hours.

At different phases of my life, one of those hobbies was all I could think about. I thought it was normal. I thought I just loved music or writing.

But now I’ve studied obsession, I realize it wasn’t love at all.

I was obsessed. My current obsession of writing has lasted 9 years. I’ve become so obsessed with it that I quit my job 18 months ago…

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb