Hate Marketing Yourself on LinkedIn? Here Are Ways to Make It Less Cringe.

Cut through the noise with these simple tips.

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

--

pop art illustration of a laptop on a desk with a cell phone and coffee cup
Image created via Midjourney

Some people don’t mind being self-promotional. I am not one of those people.

Yet here I am, a freelance content marketer who relies on LinkedIn for business. Before that, I ran sales at a marketing agency and was expected to bring in new clients.

Many people find posting on LinkedIn terrifying. I’ve heard comments ranging from “I don’t know what to post” to “I always second-guess myself.”

But there’s an undeniable benefit to being on LinkedIn when you're running your own business. LinkedIn is very effective at driving high-quality leads and produces better organic results than other platforms.

You can be active on LinkedIn without the cringe. I’ve spent more than 18 months building a network and personal brand — one that DOESN’T revolve around constant self-promotion and instead revolves around building awareness and a personal brand.

(Say what you want about the cringey-ness of personal brand; it works.)

Repurpose Your LinkedIn Comments

If you’re not sure what to post, start by commenting on other people’s posts. You’re using their post as a…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

Freelance Writer. Practical Tips for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/