‘Have a nice day!’ and Other Stupid Stuff We Say Every Single Day

Are trite phrases becoming the new punctuation for conversations?

Sandra Wendel
The Startup
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2023

--

From Pixabay.

When someone wished my US Marine Corps tough-as-nails father, “Have a nice day,” he either said under his breath or actually out loud, “How the fuck am I supposed to do that.”

If you’re offended by swearing, stop reading now.

Of course, the well-wishing phrase has become trite. A cliché. Meaningless.

And do store associates and baristas and fast-food servers really mean they wish you will have a nice day or is that just a way to punctuate the end of a conversation, such as when we normally say, “Goodbye” or “Bye,” at the end of a phone call?

Well, yes, it has, in fact, become an idiom recognized by Merriam-Webster to replace goodbye and often used in stores to end a transaction. I thought handing someone a credit card would do that too.

Has “Have a nice day” become punctuation, just as LOL is in texts?

I don’t know about you, but I think “Have a nice day” is annoying. I usually just smile and walk away or drive away or mumble under my breath, “Whatever.” Bah humbug. And think about my dad and his response. How the fuck am . . .

--

--

Sandra Wendel
The Startup

A picky nonfiction editor who helps authors write, polish, and publish their books. Author: Cover to Cover: What First-Time Authors Need to Know about Editing.