Have you become who you want to be?

The Personality Loop

--

I was timid. Happy in my special corner, away from the “cool kids”. I had zero ambition to be someone. No expectations, no responsibilities. Just me and my small friend circle. We’d occasionally get tricked by the “cool kids”. That sucked.

High school changed everything though. It came with its dose of puberty and I started seeing my girl--friends as girls. I wanted more friends, so I inserted myself into more social circles. I started talking more. I liked this.

Come final year, and I had had enough of this shit. I found a new world in my books. I liked this more.

Have you realised how you change? Or how people around you change?

Friends drifting apart?

A quiet kid in school turning into a social rockstar?

The asshole turning into a nice guy?

The sensitive guy turning into an ignorant arrogant guy?

The master procrastinator who just started getting things done?

It’s usually more subtle. Like you thinking to yourself,

“He has changed.”

“She has changed.”

Let’s talk about why, and how we can reverse engineer it.

--

--

Neil Kakkar
The Startup

I write about Code and Life philosophies. Sometimes both. | https://neilkakkar.com | Engineer @PostHog | Write (Code). Create. Recurse.