Here’s Why the Multitasking Myth Serves No One

My belief about having to be a “good little secretary” was self-sabotage. Here’s how I flipped the script.

Amanda Warton Jenkins
The Startup

--

Image courtesy Shutterstock.com

How often to do you find yourself thinking, “what if the plane crashes?” or “what if I fail?” “What if I get detained by Canadian Border Patrol?”

These what-ifs can scare you and lead you to live a life full of anxiety and fear. They can make you do all sorts of unnecessary tasks where you’re dress-rehearsing for disaster. They can bond you to stories where you’re the victim, narratives that no longer serve you. Let me explain.

Last summer, my family was prepping for an entire school year 2,300 miles away from home. One of the tasks on my Move-from-Maryland-to-Montana checklist was to update our passports so we could travel across the border to Canada while there.

For my kids, a passport was a first-time thing. My husband and I had to mail in paperwork in a timely manner to get ours. Even to just renew passports, it’s a lengthy process. You get photos taken, fill out online forms, submit proof of identification and schedule an in-person at your local Post Office to get processed before mailing everything out.

But it’s not rocket science. It’s a pretty simple, administrative task. Our…

--

--

Amanda Warton Jenkins
The Startup

Yoga teacher, MPP UChicago "rewilding," living from the neck down, cultivating Albert Einstein's "sacred gift," intuition. My book: https://amzn.to/3mTwXlZ